The ONE thing you need to do before starting a Blog

Okay so you actually decide to start a blog, and you don’t know where to start? I guess there are thousands of thoughts running through your mind right now… But I’m pretty sure there’s one thing bothering you the most. “What should I Blog about?

Well, I can’t answer that, but for sure I can help you figure out a few things, and find your PASSION.

The Gypsy Goddess

What is that “Niche” thing?

Niche is a word that describes the combination of the main theme of a Blog and its audience.

For example, Fashion for twenty-something girls, healthy recipes for busy moms, travel guides for people that travel on a budget.

As you can see, it’s not only finding what you will Blog about but also your audience. You have to be specific.

Why Niche is so important?

Let’s assume that someone is visiting your blog to read a post about a quick and easy recipe. If you have on your Blog more posts with easy recipes, most likely the reader will search your blog a bit more, and if he likes it most likely he will subscribe (You will need the subscribers in the future if you’re planning to make some money from your Blog).

On the other hand, if you have on your Blog many and different posts that their content is totally different, the reader probably will read only the post that interests him and then he will leave. And nope, he’s not really coming back.

Your Niche defines your Blog. Of course, ou can have more than one Niche, but only if they kinda match. For example healthy recipes and workout.

The readers that are interested in your Niche are your future audience. The people that will help your Blog become better and of course more well-known. So now you see why Niche is so important?

What your audience wants?

The most important thing is to understand what your audience really needs. How your Blog is going to help them improve themselves. If, for example, you promise that you will help them become better parents, they will “listen”. If you promise that you will help them to improve their body, they will “listen”. If you promise that they will find eco-friendly and tested makeup products, they will “listen”.

That’s the golden rule of Blogging. Helping your audience become better version of themselves.

Alright, and how I will find my Niche?

It’s actually pretty simple. With just 2 questions.

1. What is my passion? What I really love?

What is that “thing” that you really like at this moment of your life? What are you in love with? For sure you have something in your mind right now… And I guess you feel really good now that you’re thinking of it, right? Good. Here we are.

I want you to think that your Blog is something that you’ll be doing for months and maybe years. You have to make sure that every morning when you wake up, you will be excited and will love to work for your Blog!

So, having your passion as motivation (the why behind your blog, the reason you’re doing this) will help you deal with the difficulties that will come in your way.

Blogging needs a lot of work if you want to consider yourself a successful Blogger, and make some money from that. But you know what they say? “Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work again in your life”. Of course, the opposite things applies too. If you chose a Niche you don’nt really like, soon enough you will run out of ideas and your blog most likely will “burn”.

2. What I have to share with the world?

The truth is, that if you want readers that actually read what you are writing, to share them and comment on them, you have to provide them with something. Either Knowledge or Advice. Anything that will help them become better as we said above.

And now some of you might say, “There are so many sites on the internet, they will read my own advice? They expect me to give them some knowledge?” The most beautiful thing about Blogging is that there will never be enough Blogs. Think about that. Every person has a different personality. Guess what? Blogs have a different personality too. Each and every one of us has something to say, and something to share with the world. Different experiences, different thoughts. Use that opportunity to make the world better. Even if your Niche will be knitting for example. You will help people to learn how to do it, or how to do it easier, or just inspire them!

The most important thing

Don’t get stressed and spend too much time on finding your Niche. What you really need is an idea. Grab a piece of paper and a pencil and write down the ideas that came into your mind from the above questions. After that write down a few possible blog posts for your future Blog.

That’s where you will need your “feelings”. When you feel happy about all these ideas, and that there are so many things to write about, you found your Niche!

So what is your Niche? What will you blog about? I can’t wait to see your ideas in the comments!

  • Niche: ✔
  • Name: Coming next on MBS…
40 thoughts on “The ONE thing you need to do before starting a Blog

  1. I think this might be the most important piece of blogging advice that there is. Find your niche. Not any niche; your nice. One you love. Do anything else and you’re coming in too swallow and without enough drive – you simply won’t get noticed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, for sure you can do that, but it’s just easier to focus on one thing, and you won’t really feel overwhelmed. Of course, that’s my opinion, and everyone knows best for themselves and their limits 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I definitely agree that we need to have a niche. Usually, niche blogs do better than those that aren’t narrowed down. If a blog is kind of “all over the place” it’s hard for people to follow. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hope that I have successfully found my niche but I’m still new at this and finding my feet in the blogging world! Thanks for your advice!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so happy for you! Each and every day you have to be better than yesterday remember that! I consider myself new to this whole thing, but I’m committed to learn something new and improve my Blog every day! Keep doing what you love and the people will love it too! ❤

      Like

  4. When I started my blog, this is the part where I have the most difficult time to make a decision. So, I just started my blog and then slowly I found my niche along the way. I blog about travel but focus on people and nature 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s lovely! I’m so glad you found your niche! I still remember that feeling I had when I finally found my niche! Its one of the best feelings😄 you feel so powerful and ready to conquer the world!

      Like

  5. Great post. I write in the space of healthy eating and nutrition. When I was just getting started I wrote about whatever I was thinking about that day. Once I honed on on my niche .. my traffic and engagement shot way up! x

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so happy that you found your Niche! It’s really important to focus on few things instead of writing about everything 😀 It’s better for you and your readers! Thanks for commenting! ❤

      Like

  6. Great post! I had a really hard time with this when I got started because I felt pigeonholed by the niche I chose (dating/relationship blogger) especially after I met and stayed with significant others for years. It’s important to note that a blog CAN change direction over the years, but who we are and what we want to convey, can always follow along in that same vein 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing… I’m stopping in from the Bloggers Supporting Bloggers FB group and hope you have a great weekend!!

    Like

    • Of course sweety! We change each and every day! We can’t expect our Blogs to be the same… They will eventually evolve with us! Thanks for commenting and sharing your ideas with us 🙂

      Like

  7. I think that a niche is important to an extent but I definitely think it is ok to talk about other topics. For example my main two topics are social issues and fashion, but I also talk about things like food and mental health x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Of course we talk about many things in our Blogs, but our main focus is like one or two (as you said) 🙂 It’s easier to focus on one main thing and then add all the little pretty details.

      Like

  8. this is really a great article and a helpful tips for those who are planning to start a blog .. finding a niche is truly important because that is how you can give your blog an identity.. I have been into blogging for almost ten years but I only found my niche 3 years ago and I actually find it really comforting and made blogging more enjoying for me

    Like

Leave a Reply

